India could play in the Copa America in 2024

India could play in the Copa America in 2024

INDIA could be a guest nation in the 2024 Copa America according to reports.

The tournament which will be played in Ecuador will contain either two or six guest teams.

The 2021 tournament will be played in June in Argentina and Colombia, having been postponed from last year.

Australia and Qatar had been set to compete at guest nations but pulled out due to the World Cup/AFC Cup qualifiers.

It is understood Australia suggested India as a replacement, but scheduling concerns ruled out their participation this time around.

AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das told the Times of India: “They actually then spoke to India and to CONMEBOL, who were excited to get India.

“They were very interested in having us play

“There were scheduling issues.

“The Copa America is in June and we were trying to see if the qualifiers could be played earlier in March/April. But it didn’t work out for some of the countries like Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

“Had the qualifiers been in March or April, it would have been a fantastic experience for our team.

“It’s a very difficult tournament, but for a young squad, this is what they require.

“I hope, as the organizers have indicated that they are interested in India, we can make that happen in the future.”

CONMEBOL, the governing body for football in South America is still hoping to find two more guest nations, but the tournament might only have the 10 South American nations.

The last time that happened was in 1991.

Argentina are set to hope Group A of the tournament which will also feature Bolivia, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay and potentially one guest nation.

Group B is hosted by Colombia and also features Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru, with one spot available for another guest.

Previous guest nations in Copas America are: United States and Mexico (1993), United States and Mexico (1995), Mexico and Costa Rica (1997), Japan and Mexico (1999), Mexico and Costa Rica (2001), Mexico and Costa Rica (2004), Mexico and the United States (2007), Costa Rica and Mexico (2011), Jamaica and Mexico (2015), the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Haiti, Panama (2016), Qatar and Japan (2019).

Japan and Qatar, the only two Asian nations to have competed have never progressed past the group stages.

Leave a Reply