Plans for IPL 2021 depend on success of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Plans for IPL 2021 depend on success of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

A BBCI administrator has said the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, which begins on Sunday, will provide a litmus test for the 2021 IPL.

The season is scheduled to begin in March, with the mini-auction on February 11 according to CricTracker.

After the January 4 BCCI meeting, the trading window was opened with teams being told to release players by January 21.

The member told Mumbai Mirror: “How we approach the next IPL is dependent on how the Mushtaq Ali plays out.”

India is the preferred host, but a return to the UAE is not being ruled out, according to reports.

Chennai, Indore, Baroda, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Mumbai and Ahmedabad are set to host games.

The tournament is a T20 format featuring sides that compete in the Ranji Trophy.

There are five groups of six teams and a plate group with eight teams.

Games will take place in bio-secure venues.

A decision on the format, schedule and viability of the Ranji Trophy is expected after the group stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

The coronavirus pandemic has curtailed 2020-21 domestic cricket schedules.

In Australia, the first-class Sheffield Shield has been cut short by one round, the Marsh One-Day Cup will not be complete until mid-April, the latest point in the tournament history, a full schedule to the Big Bash League is expected to be completed in early February.

New Zealand’s first-class Plunkett Shield saw the first-ever COVID-replacement in cricket after Benjamin Lister replaced Mark Chapman in Auckland’s match against Otago.

South Africa’s CSA 4-Day Franchise Series has seen the end-date pushed back from December 20 to February 21 due to positive COVID-19 tests. The 3-Day Provincial Cup was expected to begin tomorrow but has been pushed back until February, whilst a similar delay occurred with the provincial one-day tournament.

Zimbabwe’s First Class Logan Cup was halted after just four games due to the outbreak in the country.

Karnataka are the defending Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy champions, having beaten Tamil Nadu by one run in the December final.

The tournament began in 2009-10 as a rebrand of the Inter-State T20 Championship which began in 2006-07.

The tournament is named after Syed Mushtaq Ali, the first Indian cricketer to hit an overseas test century with 112 against England at Old Trafford in 1936.

Leave a Reply