Indian government confirms attendance policy for IPL 2021 amid COVID-19 pandemic

Indian government confirms attendance policy for IPL 2021 amid COVID-19 pandemic

NEW DELHI’s Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports have confirmed New Delhi will allow 50% attendance for major sporting events in India.

This will cover the 2021 IPL and England’s tour of India.

The rules apply to outdoor events with CCTV in place to detect over-crowding.

As reported by Inside Sport, local authorities will still retain some veto power.

The tournament is expected to begin in April, with the annual auction in February.

South African fast bowler Dale Steyn will play no part in the tournament, however, as this morning he tweeted: “Just a short message to let everyone know that I’ve made myself unavailable for RCB at this years IPL, I’m also not planning on playing for another team, just taking some time off during that period.

“Thank you to RCB for understanding.”

Mr Steyn, who turns 38 in June, has also played in the IPL for Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Lions.

He plays domestically in South Africa for Cape Town Blitz and in 2020 also played franchise cricket for the Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League, Islamabad United in the Pakistan Super League and Kandy Tuskers in the Lanka Premier League.

England’s tour of India begins with four tests for the Anthony de Mello Trophy, before five T20is and three ODIs.

The tests series will be part of the World Test Championship and the ODI series will be part of the World Cup Super League.

It is the only remaining series’ scheduled for either team in 2020-21, though England will host Sri Lanka, Pakistan and India in the summer of 2021.

The first two series’ will be just white ball and the India series will be exclusively red ball as currently scheduled.

For the upcoming series, the first two tests will be in Chennai, with the final two in Ahmedabad.

Ahmedabad will host the entire T20i series, while the ODIs will take place in Pune.

England last toured India in 2016-17, losing the Test series 4-0 with one draw as well as losing the ODI and T20 series’ both 2-1.

Virat Kohli, Kedar Jahdav, and Yuzvendra Chahal won the player of the series’ award for the three series respectively.

Leave a Reply